Dr.K.Baranidharan, M.B.A.,M.Phil., Ph.D.
NSS Program Officer
Associate Professor, Dept. of MBA


Introduction National Service Scheme (NSS) is a permanent youth programme under the ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India and funded by Government of Tamil Nadu and Government of India in the ratio of 5:7

Objective of NSS:

Development of personality of students through community service.


The motto of NSS is “NOT ME BUT YOU”. It underlines that the welfare of an individual is ultimately dependent on the welfare of the society as a whole. This expresses the essence of democratic living and upholds the need of selfness service and appreciation of the other man’s point of view and also consideration for fellow human beings.


The NSS symbol is based on the “Rath Wheel” of the Konark Sun Temple of Orissa. The giant wheel portrays the cycles of creation, preservation and release and signifies the movement in life across time and space. The design of the symbol, a simplified form of Sun Chariot Wheel primarily depicts movement. The wheel signifies the progressive cycle of life. It also stands for dynamism and progressive outlook of youth.

NSS Unit & Programme Officer:

One NSS Unit consists of 100 student volunteer guided by one Programme Officer who will be a faculty member. The Programme Officer is expected to motivate the student youth to understand the values and philosophy of NSS. The overall functions of Programme Officer are to help the students to plan, implement and evaluate the activities of NSS under his/her charge and give proper guidance and directions to the student volunteers.

Regular Activities:

A seminar on “Waste material Management and Environmental awareness” was conducted on 27th October 2010.The presentation by Mr. S. Indra Kumar, an environmentalist from ExNoRA enthralled the students on the safety of our environment. The programme dealt with the conservation of the resources in environment and recycling wastes. The programme was very helpful for the students who attended the seminar.

  • 2022-2023 – Nallur
  • 2021-2022 – Nallur
  • 2020-2021 – Palanthandalam
  • 2018-2019 – Aagaramthen
  • 2017-2018 – Elichur
  • 2016-2017 – Vadukkuppattu
  • 2015-2016 – Vadukkuppattu

BEST NSS Volunteers Award:

BEST NSS Programme Officer:

Best NSS Unit:

2015-2016: Blood Donation Awards

2016-2017: Blood Donation Awards